Robert Siegel (In Memoriam)

Robert Siegel (1939-2012) was the author of nine books of poetry and fiction. His poetry collections include A Pentecost of Finches: New and Selected PoemsThe Waters Under the EarthThe Beasts & The Elders and In a Pig’s Eye. He received prizes and awards from PoetryPrairie SchoonerThe Transatlantic Review, the Ingram Merrill Foundation, and the National Endowment for the Arts, among others. His poems appeared in numerous journals and anthologies, including Poetry, Prairie Schooner, and The Atlantic Monthly. He also wrote several novels, including Alpha Centauri and the Whalesong trilogy, which received the Golden Archer and Matson awards.

Siegel taught at Dartmouth, Princeton, and Goethe University in Frankfurt, and for twenty-three years at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, where he directed the graduate creative writing program and is currently professor emeritus of English. He received degrees from Wheaton, Johns Hopkins, and Harvard. He was married to Ann Hill Siegel, a photographer.



A Pentecost of Finches: New and Selected Poems

The Beasts & the Elder

In a Pig’s Eye

The Waters Under the Earth.


Alpha Centauri


White Whale

The Ice at the End of the World

The Kingdom of Wundle